top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Gallaher

Picture 1: Wings (1928)

Updated: Jun 19, 2022

So our journey through the history of cinema and therefore the human condition begins! To my relief the first ever Best Picture winner is readily available on Amazon Prime so unperturbed I settle down with a cup of Yorkshire tea to watch it.


Quite quickly it becomes obvious that this is a silent movie. Remember that traditional world of conversation on screen and real world sound effects - not likely! Instead if somebody says something really important like "I'm off to war, darling!" it will appear on the screen briefly and then send you back to the action. To my surprise, this format actually works well and I find myself transported to the world of the Great War.


Not only am I in their world but the film is really quite gripping. I find myself captivated by the story. The horror of war, the challenge of romantic love, male comradery and even a touch a humour - it has it all!


Being nearly a century younger than them I have no idea who the actors are but clearly they were big names of their day. They appear to be true masters of the silent film. A bravo effort. The Academy clearly had excellent taste in 1928. Onwards!


Reflections on the human condition:

  1. War is a disaster for the human race.

  2. Romantic love is not static - it grows and evolves within its own machinations.

  3. Forgiveness purifies the soul.

Rating:


8/10


Oscar Best Picture Winner Rankings:


  1. Wings (1928)






56 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Picture 46: The Sting (1973)

1973 introduces two megastars in the form of Robert Redford and Paul Newman. George Roy Hill returns to directing this leading pair four...

1 Comment


Vivian Gallaher
Vivian Gallaher
Aug 01, 2021

Yes, the silent movies. I agree the captions worked very well in the better films. The arrival of film silent or otherwise was almost beyond belief. A new powerful technological force able to take people's minds to new understanding and self-awareness.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page